Hon. Lisa Hanna: Chair
Dr. Donald Rhodd: Vice - Chair
Miss Andrene Blackwin: Dir, Youth Policy & Programmes, NCYD
Mr. Keitho Nembhard: Youth Rep, Mandeville, Manchester
Professor Ronald Young: Science Expert
Mrs. Janice Miller: Ministry of Foreign Affairs & Foreign Trade
Mrs. Diedra Coy: PIOJ
Tracy Ann Thomas: NGO/Civil Society Rep
Dr. Dorothy Raymond: Jamaica Teachers’ Assoc.
Mrs. Everlyn Craig Brow: Private Sector
Mr. Mark Thomas: JAMPRO (Creative Industries)
Mr. Lincoln Robinson: Information/Comm. Expert
Ms. Cheryl Brown: Jamaica Rep to Int’l Bioethics Committee
Ministry of Education Rep.
Mr. Everton Hannam: Secretary-General

Ambassador Vilma McNish is Jamaica's new Ambassador to the Kingdom of Belgium, Permanent Representative to the European Union and UNESCO. Ambassador McNish is expected to assume duties in April, 2012.

The National Bioethics Committee of Jamaica (NBCJ) invites all to a Public Forum “The Role of Bioethics in National Development” Thursday, November 4, 2010 at 5:30 p.m. The Anglican Church Hall, St. John’s Anglican Church, Milford Road, Ocho Rios, St. Ann "POSTPONED"

In the second year of the Assisting Bioethics Committees (ABC) Project, a second training course is to be held for members of the recently-established "POSTPONED"... Read more

UNESCO Award of Excellence for Handicrafts" in the English & Dutch speaking Caribbean".

Hon. Lisa Hanna, new Minister with responsibility for UNESCO.

Hon. Minister Lisa Hanna and Secretary General Everton Hannam during his courtesy call.

Jamaica's representatives to UNESCO bodies/committees


IOCARIBE Subcommission (Intergovernmental Oceanographic Commission) (Vice Chairman re-elected) 2011
Anthony McKenzie (Manager Strategic Planning & Policies, NEPA)    
International Bioethics Committee (IBC) 2010-2013

Cheryl Brown (Director, Office of Sponsored Research, UWI)




Executive Council of RedBioetica UNESCO 2011-2013
Dr. Derrick Aarons, JP, MD PhD, member of the Medical Council of Jamaica and the recently launched National Bioethics Committee of Jamaica (NBCJ).
Intergovernmental Committee for Physical Education & Sports (CIGEPS)2009-2013
Representative Vilma Charlton (Lecturer in Physical Education, Institute of Education, UWI)
Alternate (1)           - Mrs. Florette Blackwood
Alternate (2)           - Mr. Kenrick Barnaby
International  Bureau of Education (IBE) 2009-2013
Member Dr. Rebecca Tortello (Advisor, Minister of Education)
Alternate                 - Mrs. Rosemarie Vernon
Man and the Biosphere (MAB)2009-2013
Representative Joy Douglas (Managing Director, UDC)
Alternate (1)           - Mr. Peter Knight
Alternate (2)           - Mr. John Maxwell
Management of Social Transformation (MOST)2009-2013
Representative Mrs. Faith Innerarity
Alternate (1)           - Mrs. Florette Blackwood
Alternate (2)           - Mrs. Faith Webster
Memory of the World Regional Committee for Latin America and the Caribbean (MOWLAC)2009-2013
Winsome Hudson (Director, National Library of Jamaica)
Intergovernmental Bioethics Committee (IGBC)2010-2011
Representative Dr. Andrew Wheatley (Lecturer in Basic Medicine and a Research Scientist, UWI)
Alternate (1)           - Dr. Peter Charles
International Committee on Biosphere Reserves 2008-2011
Everton Hannam (Secretary General, JNC-UNESCO)
The International Programme for the Development of Communication (IPDC)2007-2011
Representative Marcia Forbes (Chair, Communication Advisory Committee/   Director, Phase Three Productions Ltd.)
Alternate (1)           - Ms. Jo-Ann Archibald
Alternate (2)           - Mr. Colandro Wilmot
Alternate (3)           - Mr. Oliver Watt
World Federation of UNESCO Clubs (WFUCA)2007-2011
Everton Hannam (Secretary General, JNC-UNESCO)
Co-ordinating Group of Presidents, Chairpersons & Secretary Generals of National Commissions2007-2009
Everton Hannam (Secretary General, JNC-UNESCO)
Executive Board2007-2009
Hon. Olivia. Grange
The Legal Committee2007-2009
Rep., Attorney General Dept
Intergovernmental Committee for Physical Education & Sport (CIGEPS) 2005-2009
Yvonne Kong (Principal, G.C. Foster College)
The Information For All Committee2005-2009
Prof. Fay Durrant (Department of Library Studies, UWI)
International Institute for Higher Education in Latin America and the Caribbean (IESALC) 2005-2009
Elaine Foster Allen (Principal, Shortwood Teachers’ College)
Conference of Parties on Anti-doping
Dr. Patrice Charles- Freeman
The International Programme for the Development of Communication (IPDC)2003-2007, Rapporteur
Dr. the Hon. Barbara Gloudon, OJ OD
The Legal Committee2003-2007
Dr. Stephen Vascianne

In 1957-1958 the term “Participation Programme” was used for the first time in the Programme and Budget.

Originally, assistance was given to Member States for unplanned activities - “technical aid services for special activities”.

The Participation Programme is an integral part of the Organization’s biennial programme.