Hon. Lisa Hanna: Chair
Dr. Donald Rhodd: Vice - Chair
Miss Andrene Blackwin: Dir, Youth Policy & Programmes, NCYD
Mr. Keitho Nembhard: Youth Rep, Mandeville, Manchester
Professor Ronald Young: Science Expert
Mrs. Janice Miller: Ministry of Foreign Affairs & Foreign Trade
Mrs. Diedra Coy: PIOJ
Tracy Ann Thomas: NGO/Civil Society Rep
Dr. Dorothy Raymond: Jamaica Teachers’ Assoc.
Mrs. Everlyn Craig Brow: Private Sector
Mr. Mark Thomas: JAMPRO (Creative Industries)
Mr. Lincoln Robinson: Information/Comm. Expert
Ms. Cheryl Brown: Jamaica Rep to Int’l Bioethics Committee
Ministry of Education Rep.
Mr. Everton Hannam: Secretary-General

Ambassador Vilma McNish is Jamaica's new Ambassador to the Kingdom of Belgium, Permanent Representative to the European Union and UNESCO. Ambassador McNish is expected to assume duties in April, 2012.

The National Bioethics Committee of Jamaica (NBCJ) invites all to a Public Forum “The Role of Bioethics in National Development” Thursday, November 4, 2010 at 5:30 p.m. The Anglican Church Hall, St. John’s Anglican Church, Milford Road, Ocho Rios, St. Ann "POSTPONED"

In the second year of the Assisting Bioethics Committees (ABC) Project, a second training course is to be held for members of the recently-established "POSTPONED"... Read more

UNESCO Award of Excellence for Handicrafts" in the English & Dutch speaking Caribbean".

Hon. Lisa Hanna, new Minister with responsibility for UNESCO.

Hon. Minister Lisa Hanna and Secretary General Everton Hannam during his courtesy call.

National Bioethics Committee of Jamaica

The National Bioethics Committee of Jamaica (NBCJ) was launched today, 1 October 2009, in a ceremony at the Knutsford Court Hotel.

Jamaica, on the initiative of the Jamaica National Commission for UNESCO, was invited to be one of six pilot countries to establish National Bioethics Committees - The first and only English-speaking Caribbean country to do so. This launch is the culmination of a series of meetings and preparation which began in mid 2007.

The members of the committee are Dr. Anthony Mullings, Chairman of the Committee, Dr. Derrick Aarons, Deputy Chairman, Miss Nancy Anderson, Secretary, Dr. Sheila Campbell-Forrester, Dr. Ayotunde Bewaji, Professor Ralph Robinson, Rt. Rev. Dr. Howard Gregory, Rev. Garth Minott, Dr. Claude Packer, Dr. Herbert Thompson, Dr. Audia Barnett, Mrs. Shereen Dawkins-Cox, Ms. Cheryl Brown, Mr. Everton Hannam and Mrs. Angela Patterson.

The launch ceremony was chaired by Professor Ralph Robinson.  Everton Hannam, a member of the NBCJ and Secretary General of the Jamaica National Commission for UNESCO brought greetings on behalf of Minister Grange, the Minister with responsibility for the Jamaica National Commission on UNESCO.  She congratulated the Committee on its achievement in having a formal launch.  Chairman Dr. Anthony Mullings spoke on the aims and objectives of the committee in the context of the drive by UNESCO to establish these committees around the world.  Deputy Chairman, Dr. Derrick Aarons gave a wide ranging perspective of the various areas of our lives which are impacted by ethical decisions. 

The Committee then launched its logo competition with a deadline for entries of January 31, 2010.


In 1957-1958 the term “Participation Programme” was used for the first time in the Programme and Budget.

Originally, assistance was given to Member States for unplanned activities - “technical aid services for special activities”.

The Participation Programme is an integral part of the Organization’s biennial programme.